Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Hunted by the Sky Blog Tour Recap

This week, Hunted by the Sky, the fierce new fantasy from Tanaz Bhathena, was officially released. To celebrate, we hosted a mini Instagram tour – keep scrolling to see all the gorgeous pictures and thanks to everyone who took part!


By Tanaz Bhathena
384 Pages | Ages 12+| Hardcover
ISBN 9780735267022 | Penguin Teen Canada
Gul has spent her life running. She has a star-shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for years. Gul’s mark is what caused her parents’ murder at the hand of King Lohar’s ruthless soldiers and forced her into hiding to protect her own life. So when a group of rebel women called the Sisters of the Golden Lotus rescue her, take her in, and train her in warrior magic, Gul wants only one thing: revenge.
Cavas lives in the tenements, and he’s just about ready to sign his life over to the king’s army. His father is terminally ill, and Cavas will do anything to save him. But sparks fly when he meets a mysterious girl—Gul—in the capital’s bazaar, and as the chemistry between them undeniably grows, he becomes entangled in a mission of vengeance—and discovers a magic he never expected to find.
Dangerous circumstances have brought Gul and Cavas together at the king’s domain in Ambar Fort . . . a world with secrets deadlier than their own. Exploring identity, class struggles, and high-stakes romance, Hunted by the Sky is a gripping adventure set in a world inspired by medieval India.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Grey Sisters Blog Tour Recap

We’ve been running a massive blog tour for Jo Treggiari’s GG-nominated THE GREY SISTERS for the past couple of weeks so we’ve dropped all the reviews here in a handy-dandy recap post.

Week One

October 14: Michele at Just A Lil’ Lost recommends it for fans of SADIE or THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES

October 15: Kristi at Confessions of a YA Reader promoted the book along with some more info about Jo Treggiari

October 16: Zuhra at Venus Reads was hooked within the first chapter and “enjoyed the complexities of all the characters, plot and how the heavy topic of grief was tackled”

October 17: Book Hounds featured a Q&A with Jo Treggiari herself (and now our TBRs are even longer!)

October 18: Trang at Bookidote thought it was so compelling, she finished the book in ONE SITTING!

Week Two

October 21: Victoria at The Contented Reader enjoyed Jo’s previous book BLOOD WILL OUT and recommends this one too

October 22: Crossroad Reviews thought the characters are “some that will rip out your heart”

October 23: YA Book Central chatted with Jo and we learned what she’s working on next (plus there’s a giveaway!)

October 24: Lizz at Literary Lizard posted both a review and an interview with Jo where they discussed the cult aspects of the book

October 25: Isabella at The Feminist Bookworm did a Q&A with Jo and learned more about the inspiration for the novel

Week Three

October 28: On Instagram, Sam recommended THE GREY SISTERS to fans of WILDER GIRLS

October 29: Carly at A Beauty & Her Books was immediately intrigued by the synopsis and enjoyed the read

October 30: On Instagram, Jen read it in a day and was shocked by some of the twists!

October 31: And on Instagram, Ali finished off the tour with a beautiful photo!

Thanks so much to everyone who participated, we appreciate you all! Hopefully this blog tour will inspire others to pick up a copy of THE GREY SISTERS – if you do, make sure you let us know what you think!

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Beauty of the Moment Blog Tour Recap + a Q&A with Tanaz Bhathena

We just finished a successful week-long blog tour in support of Tanaz Bhathena’s The Beauty of the Moment – thank you to all the bloggers who participated!

Check out their thoughts below:

Monday, April 8

Tuesday, April 9

Wednesday, April 10

Thursday, April 11

Friday, April 12

  • Zuhra @ Venus Reads said it was a story that will linger in your mind even after you finish
  • Lisa @ Remarkablylisa recommended it to anyone who likes a little angst in their lives (in a good way)
  • Jamie @ Books and Ladders really connected to their internal and external conflicts
  • Herminia @ Aspiring Writer appreciated the way it ended
  • Delina @ Delina the Reader presented us with a playlist based on the book

Thanks for following along!

As a bonus, here’s a short Q&A with Tanaz herself:

Recommend a book for Susan and Malcolm. 

Susan: The entire Amar Chitra Katha series of graphic novels

Malcolm: The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson (It might have to be an audiobook though; he’s not keen on reading)

What advice would you give your 16 year old self?

Have more faith in your dreams.

What is the best piece of writing advice you have ever received?

Butt in seat. The story won’t tell itself.

What are you reading now?

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

What books do you recommend for fans of The Beauty of the Moment?

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon, 2 States by Chetan Bhagat, and You Bring the Distant Near by Mitali Perkins

5 Random Facts About Tanaz Bhathena:

  1. I decided to become a writer because I failed as a cartoonist.
  2. While visiting a foreign country, I always try to learn some of the language.
  3. I cry every time I watch The Lion King. During one particular scene.
  4. Once I figured out the fine art of using a bobby pin, I began doing my own nail art. (I’m not very good; see fact 1.)
  5. I’ve bungee jumped, zip lined and walked the edge of the CN Tower.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Chicken Girl Blog Tour Recap

This week, we’ve been running a blog tour for Heather Smith’s poignant coming-of-age novel, Chicken Girl, and now all the reviews are in!

Monday, February 25

Vicky @ Vicky Who Reads gave us a guest post from Heather, as well as five reasons to read Chicken Girl
Lisa @ Remarkably Lisa loves Poppy’s gay twin brother, Cam
Jaaron @ Worn Pages and Ink called it one of the best YA novels she’s read in a long time

Tuesday, February 26

Malanie @ malanie loves fiction thinks a lot of people will enjoy it despite the heavy topics
Chelsea @ Twirling Pages wrote a love letter to the book, saying that she saw herself in almost every character
Alexa @ Like Literally Literary is especially fond of Poppy’s new friend, Miracle

Wednesday, February 27

Kaitlyn @ Midsummer Night’s Read really connected with Poppy’s character
Wendy @ A Cupcake and A Latte loves Heather’s “touching and emotionally uplifting writing”

Thursday, February 28

Summer @ Butter My Books is hoping for a sequel about Lewis (or Cam!)
Christine @ Padfoot’s Library posted a short piece about writing from Heather
Olivia @ The Candid Cover thinks the book has a great message about respect – both online and IRL

Friday, March 1

Kate @ Snarky Yet Satisfying fell in love with Poppy and her friends on the first page
Zuhra @ Venus Reads couldn’t put it down

Thanks so much to all the bloggers who participated – we hope they convince the rest of you that you need this book in your life. Look for it on shelves next week!

Don’t forget to add Chicken Girl to Goodreads!