YA Mondays: Frankly in Love Contest

Welcome to December! We want to make sure your holiday season is off to a great start so we’re giving you a chance to win a finished copy of Frankly in Love signed by David Yoon himself! All you have to do is follow @PenguinTeenCa, like the contest photo, and comment with an account you’re frankly in love with! Bonus entry: share the contest in your stories and tag us!

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between December 2, 2019 and December 7, 2019. Open to residents of Canada (excluding Quebec) who have reached the age of majority in their province or territory of residence at time of entry. Void where prohibited or restricted by law. See Official Rules here for full details.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Indigo’s Best Books for Teens

A while back, Indigo released their 2019 Best Books for Teens list, and we’re stoked to see so many of our faves made the cut! There are books that were on our #Penguin10 list, as well as a few that were included in our #FantasyFriday and #SciFiSaturday campaigns (and even one that was part of #IRLWednesday!), not to mention some we just love in general! How many have you read?

Frankly in Love
By David Yoon
ISBN 9781984812209
14+ | Putnam BFYR

Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong? In this moving debut novel, David Yoon takes on the question of who am I? with a result that is humorous, heartfelt, and ultimately unforgettable.

Two Can Keep a Secret
By Karen M. McManus
ISBN 9781524714727
14+ | Delacorte Press

Echo Ridge is small-town America. Ellery’s never been there, but she’s heard all about it. Her aunt went missing there at age seventeen. And only five years ago, a homecoming queen put the town on the map when she was killed. Now Ellery has to move there – and suddenly another girl goes missing.

Wilder Girls
By Rory Power
ISBN 9780525645580
14+ | Delacorte Press

A feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears.

Spin the Dawn
By Elizabeth Lim
ISBN 9780525646990
12+ | Knopf BFYR

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Aurora Rising
By Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
ISBN 9781524720964
12+ | Knopf BFYR

The year is 2380, and the graduating cadets of Aurora Academy are being assigned their first missions. Star pupil Tyler Jones is ready to recruit the squad of his dreams, but he’s stuck with the dregs nobody else in the academy would touch…not to mention Aurora Jie-Lin O’Malley, the girl he’s just rescued from interdimensional space.

The Beautiful
By Renée Ahdieh
ISBN 9781524738174
12+ | Putnam BFYR

New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight.

The Secret Commonwealth (Book of Dust, Volume 2)
By Philip Pullman
ISBN 9780553510669
14+ | Knopf BFYR

The windows between the many worlds have been sealed and the momentous adventures of Lyra Silvertongue’s youth are long behind her—or so she thought.

Four Dead Queens
By Astrid Scholte
ISBN 9780525513926
12+ | Putnam BFYR

Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar who soon finds herself entangled in a conspiracy that leaves the four queens of Quadara dead.

The Things She’s Seen
By Ambelin Kwaymullina and Ezekiel Kwaymullina
ISBN 9781984848789
12+ | Knopf BFYR

Nothing’s been the same for Beth Teller since the day she died. Her dad is the only one who can see her and she needs his help to solve a mystery and get him out of his grief.

Blood Heir
By Amélie Wen Zhao
ISBN 9780525707790
12+ | Delacorte Press

This hot debut, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and An Ember in the Ashes, is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father’s murder.

How to Make Friends with the Dark
By Kathleen Glasgow
ISBN 9781101934753
14+ | Delacorte Press

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

American Royals
By Katharine McGee
ISBN 9781984830173
14+ | Random House BFYR

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince’s heart. This is the story of the American royals.

Gravemaidens
By Kelly Coon
ISBN 9780525647829
14+ | Delacorte Press

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave.

 

2019 NCTE Annual Convention

Hello Baltimore! Are you as excited for the NCTE Convention as we are? We’ll be showcasing our 2019 titles plus sneak peaks at some 2020 books at booth 1239. Come by to say hi to our Marketing and Publicity Associate Director, Vikki VanSickle; and our Marketing and Publicity Manager, Sylvia Chan. We will be happy to chat all things bookish with you and giveaway some of our beautiful marketing materials including art cards, bookmarks, and more.

We will also be hosting Heather Smith at booth 1239 where she’ll be signing copies of her incredible novel, Chicken Girl. This is based on first come, first serve. One copy per person while quantities last and you must be in line for the signing to receive a complimentary copy. See you there!

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Grey Sisters Blog Tour Recap

We’ve been running a massive blog tour for Jo Treggiari’s GG-nominated THE GREY SISTERS for the past couple of weeks so we’ve dropped all the reviews here in a handy-dandy recap post.

Week One

October 14: Michele at Just A Lil’ Lost recommends it for fans of SADIE or THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES

October 15: Kristi at Confessions of a YA Reader promoted the book along with some more info about Jo Treggiari

October 16: Zuhra at Venus Reads was hooked within the first chapter and “enjoyed the complexities of all the characters, plot and how the heavy topic of grief was tackled”

October 17: Book Hounds featured a Q&A with Jo Treggiari herself (and now our TBRs are even longer!)

October 18: Trang at Bookidote thought it was so compelling, she finished the book in ONE SITTING!

Week Two

October 21: Victoria at The Contented Reader enjoyed Jo’s previous book BLOOD WILL OUT and recommends this one too

October 22: Crossroad Reviews thought the characters are “some that will rip out your heart”

October 23: YA Book Central chatted with Jo and we learned what she’s working on next (plus there’s a giveaway!)

October 24: Lizz at Literary Lizard posted both a review and an interview with Jo where they discussed the cult aspects of the book

October 25: Isabella at The Feminist Bookworm did a Q&A with Jo and learned more about the inspiration for the novel

Week Three

October 28: On Instagram, Sam recommended THE GREY SISTERS to fans of WILDER GIRLS

October 29: Carly at A Beauty & Her Books was immediately intrigued by the synopsis and enjoyed the read

October 30: On Instagram, Jen read it in a day and was shocked by some of the twists!

October 31: And on Instagram, Ali finished off the tour with a beautiful photo!

Thanks so much to everyone who participated, we appreciate you all! Hopefully this blog tour will inspire others to pick up a copy of THE GREY SISTERS – if you do, make sure you let us know what you think!

YA Halloween Costume: The Beauty of the Moment

Dress up like your favorite YA book covers this Halloween! Today’s outfit is inspired by the sweet, artsy cover of The Beauty of the Moment. We’ve done the work and searched for all the pieces for you!


Scarf: Love Lakeside | Dress: iClothing | Tights: eBay | Boots: Nasty Gal

The Beauty of the Moment
By Tanaz Bhathena
ISBN 9780735263741 | Penguin Teen Canada
368 Pages | Ages 12+ | Hardcover

Susan dreams of being an artist. Malcolm wants to move him and his sister out of a bad living situation. Sparks fly when the two teens meet at a fundraiser for Syrian refugees. A Canadian YA romance for fans of The Sun is Also a Star.

Susan is the new girl — she’s sharp and driven, and strives to meet her parents’ expectations of excellence. Malcolm is the bad boy — he started raising hell at age fifteen, after his mom died of cancer, and has had a reputation ever since.

Susan hasn’t told anyone, but she wants to be an artist. Malcolm doesn’t know what he wants — until he meets her.

Love is messy and families are messier, but in spite of their burdens, Susan and Malcolm fall for each other. The ways they drift apart and come back together are testaments to family, culture, and being true to who you are.