NYPL’s Best Books of 2019

Every year, librarians who work for the New York Public Library read thousands of new releases and make a list of their favorite titles to recommend. Each book on their Best Books for Kids list features compelling characters and inspiring ideas and we’re thrilled that several of our titles were included this year! Congratulations to our creators!

The Collected Works of Gretchen Oyster
By Cary Fagan
ISBN 9780735266216 | Hardcover
Ages 10-14 | Tundra Books

Hartley Staples, near-graduate of middle school, is grappling with the fact that his older brother has run away from home, when he finds a handmade postcard that fascinates him. And soon he spots another. Who is G.O. and why are they scattering cards about the town?

Ho’onani: Hula Warrior
By Heather Gale
Illustrated by Mika Song
ISBN 9780735264496 | Hardcover
Ages 4-8 | Tundra Books

Based on a true story, Ho’onani: Hula Warrior is a celebration of Hawaiian culture and an empowering story of a girl who learns to lead and learns to accept who she really is – and in doing so, gains the respect of all those around her.

King Mouse
By Cary Fagan
Illustrated by Dena Seiferling
ISBN 9780735264045 | Hardcover
Ages 3-7 | Tundra Books

A sweet, thoughtful tale of friendship, sharing and play, King Mouse begins when a mouse comes upon a tiny crown in the grass. The mouse puts the crown on his head, and when a bear subsequently comes upon him and asks if he’s king, the mouse responds “Yes.”

The Not-So Great Outdoors
By Madeline Kloepper
ISBN 9780735264175 | Hardcover
Ages 3-7 | Tundra Books

A reluctant camper discovers that the (not-so) great outdoors can be just as exciting as screens and skyscrapers in this playful picture book celebration of the pleasures of unplugging and embracing nature.

Kirkus Reviews Best Middle-Grade Books of 2019 That Prove the Past Isn’t Past

Kirkus Reviews has revealed their picks for the Best Middle-Grade Books of 2019 That Prove the Past Isn’t Past and we’re thrilled that one of our titles made the list. Congratulations to Eric and Kathy!

Kirkus Reviews Best Middle-Grade Books of 2019 That Prove the Past Isn’t Past

Broken Strings
By Eric Walters and Kathy Kacer
Hardcover | 288 Pages | Ages 10-14
ISBN: 9780735266247

A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo.

“Shirli’s voice is true and strong as she narrates her own tale of rehearsals, her very ethnically diverse friendships, her deep distress as she witnesses Zayde’s pain, and her joy as he reconnects with his music. A beautiful, painful, heartfelt reminder that the past is with us still.” – Starred ReviewKirkus Reviews

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Indigo’s Best Books for Teens

A while back, Indigo released their 2019 Best Books for Teens list, and we’re stoked to see so many of our faves made the cut! There are books that were on our #Penguin10 list, as well as a few that were included in our #FantasyFriday and #SciFiSaturday campaigns (and even one that was part of #IRLWednesday!), not to mention some we just love in general! How many have you read?

Frankly in Love
By David Yoon
ISBN 9781984812209
14+ | Putnam BFYR

Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong? In this moving debut novel, David Yoon takes on the question of who am I? with a result that is humorous, heartfelt, and ultimately unforgettable.

Two Can Keep a Secret
By Karen M. McManus
ISBN 9781524714727
14+ | Delacorte Press

Echo Ridge is small-town America. Ellery’s never been there, but she’s heard all about it. Her aunt went missing there at age seventeen. And only five years ago, a homecoming queen put the town on the map when she was killed. Now Ellery has to move there – and suddenly another girl goes missing.

Wilder Girls
By Rory Power
ISBN 9780525645580
14+ | Delacorte Press

A feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears.

Spin the Dawn
By Elizabeth Lim
ISBN 9780525646990
12+ | Knopf BFYR

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Aurora Rising
By Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
ISBN 9781524720964
12+ | Knopf BFYR

The year is 2380, and the graduating cadets of Aurora Academy are being assigned their first missions. Star pupil Tyler Jones is ready to recruit the squad of his dreams, but he’s stuck with the dregs nobody else in the academy would touch…not to mention Aurora Jie-Lin O’Malley, the girl he’s just rescued from interdimensional space.

The Beautiful
By Renée Ahdieh
ISBN 9781524738174
12+ | Putnam BFYR

New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight.

The Secret Commonwealth (Book of Dust, Volume 2)
By Philip Pullman
ISBN 9780553510669
14+ | Knopf BFYR

The windows between the many worlds have been sealed and the momentous adventures of Lyra Silvertongue’s youth are long behind her—or so she thought.

Four Dead Queens
By Astrid Scholte
ISBN 9780525513926
12+ | Putnam BFYR

Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar who soon finds herself entangled in a conspiracy that leaves the four queens of Quadara dead.

The Things She’s Seen
By Ambelin Kwaymullina and Ezekiel Kwaymullina
ISBN 9781984848789
12+ | Knopf BFYR

Nothing’s been the same for Beth Teller since the day she died. Her dad is the only one who can see her and she needs his help to solve a mystery and get him out of his grief.

Blood Heir
By Amélie Wen Zhao
ISBN 9780525707790
12+ | Delacorte Press

This hot debut, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and An Ember in the Ashes, is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father’s murder.

How to Make Friends with the Dark
By Kathleen Glasgow
ISBN 9781101934753
14+ | Delacorte Press

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

American Royals
By Katharine McGee
ISBN 9781984830173
14+ | Random House BFYR

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince’s heart. This is the story of the American royals.

Gravemaidens
By Kelly Coon
ISBN 9780525647829
14+ | Delacorte Press

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave.

 

School Library Journal’s Best Middle Grade Books of 2019

School Library Journal has revealed their picks for the Best Middle Grade Books of 2019 and we’re thrilled that one of our titles made the list. Congratulations to Kelley!

Best Middle Grade Books of 2019

A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying
By Kelley Armstrong
Hardcover | 288 Pages | Ages 10-14
ISBN: 9780735265356

Monster hunting isn’t for the faint of heart — the first in a brand-new middle-grade series by NYT bestselling author, Kelley Armstrong.

“Thrilling action scenes are balanced with emotionally resonant moments…Give this to any fantasy and adventure fan ready for a fast and fun read.” – Starred ReviewSchool Library Journal

Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Books of 2019 for Animal Lovers

Kirkus Reviews has revealed their picks for the Best Picture Books of 2019 for Animal Lovers and we’re thrilled that one of our titles made the list. Congratulations to Susin and Olivia!

Best Picture Books of 2019 for Animal Lovers

Princess Puffybottom…and Darryl
By Susin Nielsen
Illustrated by Olivia Chin Mueller
Hardcover | 32 Pages | Ages 3-7
ISBN: 9781101919255

What’s a pampered cat to do now that she has to compete for attention with an ill-mannered puppy?

“Nielsen’s tale and Mueller’s digitally created pooch and puss pair perfectly, the princess acting as a nice stand-in for a pampered first child. The light touch of humor and twist at the end make this a must for storytime collections.” – Starred ReviewKirkus Reviews