Peter Lee’s Notes From the Field Blog Tour Recap

A few weeks ago, the lovely people at Hear Our Voices Book Tours hosted a blog tour for Peter Lee’s Notes From the Field! We’ve rounded up their contributions below, make sure to check them out!

    • Hanna put together a lesson plan and classroom décor.
    • Musfira recreated the cover and did a fantastic job (in our humble opinion).

  • Komal interviewed author Angela Ahn.
  • Caroline posted a photo of Peter Lee with some snacks.

    • Melancholic Blithe‘s review also included a playlist, mood board, and bookmarks.
    • Anniej also interviewed Angela Ahn.
    • Sammie wrote a thoughtful review with some great quotes from the book.
    • Shenwei created fan art along with a review.
    • Fall Into Reading listed 15 thoughts while reading.
    • Laina gives the book a big recommendation.
    • Jenn is thinking of sharing the book with her classroom.
View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Jenn Gee (@jens.bookden)

Have you met Peter Lee yet? Let us know! And if not, we highly recommend getting to know him and his family – you can pick up Peter Lee’s Notes From the Field from your favorite bookstore now!


Peter Lee’s Notes From the Field
By Angela Ahn
Illustrated by Julie Kwon
312 Pages | Ages 9-12 | Hardcover
ISBN 9780735268241 | Tundra Books
Eleven year-old Peter Lee has one goal in life: to become a paleontologist. Okay, maybe two: to get his genius kid-sister, L.B., to leave him alone. But his summer falls apart when his real-life dinosaur expedition turns out to be a bust, and he watches his dreams go up in a cloud of asthma-inducing dust. Even worse, his grandmother, Hammy, is sick, and no one will talk to Peter or L.B. about it. Perhaps his days as a scientist aren’t quite behind him yet. Armed with notebooks and pens, Peter puts his observation and experimental skills to the test to see what he can do for Hammy. If only he can get his sister to be quiet for once – he needs time to sketch out a plan.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Grey Sisters Blog Tour Recap

We’ve been running a massive blog tour for Jo Treggiari’s GG-nominated THE GREY SISTERS for the past couple of weeks so we’ve dropped all the reviews here in a handy-dandy recap post.

Week One

October 14: Michele at Just A Lil’ Lost recommends it for fans of SADIE or THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES

October 15: Kristi at Confessions of a YA Reader promoted the book along with some more info about Jo Treggiari

October 16: Zuhra at Venus Reads was hooked within the first chapter and “enjoyed the complexities of all the characters, plot and how the heavy topic of grief was tackled”

October 17: Book Hounds featured a Q&A with Jo Treggiari herself (and now our TBRs are even longer!)

October 18: Trang at Bookidote thought it was so compelling, she finished the book in ONE SITTING!

Week Two

October 21: Victoria at The Contented Reader enjoyed Jo’s previous book BLOOD WILL OUT and recommends this one too

October 22: Crossroad Reviews thought the characters are “some that will rip out your heart”

October 23: YA Book Central chatted with Jo and we learned what she’s working on next (plus there’s a giveaway!)

October 24: Lizz at Literary Lizard posted both a review and an interview with Jo where they discussed the cult aspects of the book

October 25: Isabella at The Feminist Bookworm did a Q&A with Jo and learned more about the inspiration for the novel

Week Three

October 28: On Instagram, Sam recommended THE GREY SISTERS to fans of WILDER GIRLS

October 29: Carly at A Beauty & Her Books was immediately intrigued by the synopsis and enjoyed the read

October 30: On Instagram, Jen read it in a day and was shocked by some of the twists!

October 31: And on Instagram, Ali finished off the tour with a beautiful photo!

Thanks so much to everyone who participated, we appreciate you all! Hopefully this blog tour will inspire others to pick up a copy of THE GREY SISTERS – if you do, make sure you let us know what you think!

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Beauty of the Moment Blog Tour Recap + a Q&A with Tanaz Bhathena

We just finished a successful week-long blog tour in support of Tanaz Bhathena’s The Beauty of the Moment – thank you to all the bloggers who participated!

Check out their thoughts below:

Monday, April 8

Tuesday, April 9

Wednesday, April 10

Thursday, April 11

Friday, April 12

  • Zuhra @ Venus Reads said it was a story that will linger in your mind even after you finish
  • Lisa @ Remarkablylisa recommended it to anyone who likes a little angst in their lives (in a good way)
  • Jamie @ Books and Ladders really connected to their internal and external conflicts
  • Herminia @ Aspiring Writer appreciated the way it ended
  • Delina @ Delina the Reader presented us with a playlist based on the book

Thanks for following along!

As a bonus, here’s a short Q&A with Tanaz herself:

Recommend a book for Susan and Malcolm. 

Susan: The entire Amar Chitra Katha series of graphic novels

Malcolm: The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson (It might have to be an audiobook though; he’s not keen on reading)

What advice would you give your 16 year old self?

Have more faith in your dreams.

What is the best piece of writing advice you have ever received?

Butt in seat. The story won’t tell itself.

What are you reading now?

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

What books do you recommend for fans of The Beauty of the Moment?

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon, 2 States by Chetan Bhagat, and You Bring the Distant Near by Mitali Perkins

5 Random Facts About Tanaz Bhathena:

  1. I decided to become a writer because I failed as a cartoonist.
  2. While visiting a foreign country, I always try to learn some of the language.
  3. I cry every time I watch The Lion King. During one particular scene.
  4. Once I figured out the fine art of using a bobby pin, I began doing my own nail art. (I’m not very good; see fact 1.)
  5. I’ve bungee jumped, zip lined and walked the edge of the CN Tower.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Chicken Girl Blog Tour Recap

This week, we’ve been running a blog tour for Heather Smith’s poignant coming-of-age novel, Chicken Girl, and now all the reviews are in!

Monday, February 25

Vicky @ Vicky Who Reads gave us a guest post from Heather, as well as five reasons to read Chicken Girl
Lisa @ Remarkably Lisa loves Poppy’s gay twin brother, Cam
Jaaron @ Worn Pages and Ink called it one of the best YA novels she’s read in a long time

Tuesday, February 26

Malanie @ malanie loves fiction thinks a lot of people will enjoy it despite the heavy topics
Chelsea @ Twirling Pages wrote a love letter to the book, saying that she saw herself in almost every character
Alexa @ Like Literally Literary is especially fond of Poppy’s new friend, Miracle

Wednesday, February 27

Kaitlyn @ Midsummer Night’s Read really connected with Poppy’s character
Wendy @ A Cupcake and A Latte loves Heather’s “touching and emotionally uplifting writing”

Thursday, February 28

Summer @ Butter My Books is hoping for a sequel about Lewis (or Cam!)
Christine @ Padfoot’s Library posted a short piece about writing from Heather
Olivia @ The Candid Cover thinks the book has a great message about respect – both online and IRL

Friday, March 1

Kate @ Snarky Yet Satisfying fell in love with Poppy and her friends on the first page
Zuhra @ Venus Reads couldn’t put it down

Thanks so much to all the bloggers who participated – we hope they convince the rest of you that you need this book in your life. Look for it on shelves next week!

Don’t forget to add Chicken Girl to Goodreads!

#TheGhostRoadTour

Our queen of spooky middle grade, Charis Cotter, released a new book this fall called The Ghost Road and some of our bloggers participated in a blog tour! Check out what they had to say below and pick up a copy of the book if you’re looking for something to get you in the Halloween spirit.

  • Lisa @ remarkablylisa said “Charis Cotter has a way with words that made it a perfect blend of middle grade and young adult level of writing.”
  • Jessica @ Vellichors suggested it as a “book to give you the chills and get you ready for Hallowe’en, but still make you feel warm fuzzies.”
  • Heather @ Krimsuun Pages liked that “Charis Cotter has a way of describing the environment around the characters that is both eerie and beautiful.”
  • Stephanie @ A Dream Within a Dream called it “a fantastic new addition to the middle grade paranormal genre.”
  • Katelin @ Pretty Little Library loved “the detailed family history, and the villainous curse that followed the members for generations was a great mystery.”
  • Cindy @ Cindy’s Love of Books was “pleasantly surprised” and “instantly sucked in.”
  • Amanda @ Brains, Books, and Brawn said that the characters and “lively” and “feel as if they could actually be real.”
  • Zoë @ Writing Whimsy thought the setting was “a charming introduction to Newfoundland in the 1970s.”

Such great reviews! If you’re looking for a Halloween book, look no further than The Ghost Road.

The Ghost Road
Written by Charis Cotter
Hardcover | 368 Pages
ISBN: 9781101918890

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she’s never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds life in the small community of Buckle very different from Toronto–everyone knows everyone else, and some of them believe in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth’s cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they’re the same age and they even like the same food. But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard facts.

When they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family’s past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers. What’s more, one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove. What happened there? What does it have to do with their family? And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night?

The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road . . . if they can only find it.