2014 Science in Society Book Award Winner

We’re thrilled to announce that Elise Gravel’s The Fly won the Canadian Science Writers’ Association‘s Science in Society Award for Children/Middle Grade Book!

The FlyThe Fly
Written by Elise Gravel
Hardcover | 32 Pages | Ages 6-9
ISBN: 978-1-77049-636-1
The Fly is a unique nonfiction book about the common housefly. Full of interesting facts, the book reads more like a picture book or simple graphic novel. Everything you never wanted to know about one of mankind’s least favourite creatures is covered in this book…. Each page has incredible visual appeal and is very eye-catching…. Gravel’s ability to turn the most disgusting fact into an adorable drawing is remarkable…. This series is a must-read for children who like the world’s most unlikeable creatures. Highly Recommended.” — CM Magazine

Each year the Canadian Science Writers’ Association offers two book awards to honour outstanding contributions to science writing 1) intended for and available to children/middle grades ages 8-12 years, and 2) intended for and available to the general public for books that were published in Canada during the previous calendar year. This year the CSWA received a record number of entries in both categories. Entries were judged on the basis of initiative, originality, scientific accuracy, clarity of interpretation and value in promoting a better understanding of science by the public.

The winner will be presented a plaque and $1000 cash prize during the awards dinner in Saskatoon in mid-June. Congratulations Elise!

Science Writers’ Association Book Awards Shortlist

We are delighted to announce that one of our titles has been shortlisted as an Outstanding Youth Book for the Canadian Science Writers’ Association Book Awards. Congratulations to Ann Love, Jane Drake, and Bill Slavin!

Pandemic SurvivalPandemic Survival
It’s Why You’re Alive

Written by Ann Love and Jane Drake
Illustrated by Bill Slavin
Hardcover | 128 Pages | Ages 9-12
ISBN: 978-1-77049-268-4
eBook: 978-1-77049-499-2
The Black Death. Yellow Fever. Smallpox. History is full of gruesome pandemics, and surviving those pandemics has shaped our society and way of life. Every person today is alive because of an ancestor who survived–and surviving our current and future pandemics, like SARS, AIDS, bird flu or a new and unknown disease, will determine our future. Pandemic Survival presents in-depth information about past and current illnesses; the evolution of medicine and its pioneers; cures and treatments; strange rituals and superstitions; and what we’re doing to prevent future pandemics. Full of delightfully gross details about symptoms and fascinating facts about bizarre superstitious behaviors, Pandemic Survival is sure to interest even the most squeamish of readers.

Congratulations to the other shortlisted titles:

  • A History of Just About Everything by Elizabeth MacLeod and Frieda Wishinsky
  • Au labo les Debrouillards! by Yannick Bergeron
  • Before the World Was Ready by Claire Eamer and Sa Boothroyd
  • Buzz About Bees by Kari-Lynn Winters
  • Dirty Science by Shar Levine and Leslie Johnstone

The winners of this year’s award will be announced in mid-April and the award will be presented during the CSWA awards banquet at the annual conference in Toronto on June 7. You can find the full award announcement on the website here.