Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Staff Picks

The holidays are over but you still have time to hit up a bookstore before 2020 rolls around! In case you need some inspiration for your next read, here’s what our team loved in 2019:

Vikki VanSickle, Associate Director, Marketing & Publicity

The Fountains of Silence
By Ruta Sepetys
ISBN 9780399160318
Ages 12+ | Philomel Books

Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence–inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain.

The Secret Commonwealth (Book of Dust, Volume 2)
By Philip Pullman
ISBN 9780553510669
Ages 14+ | Knopf BFYR

The windows between the many worlds have been sealed and the momentous adventures of Lyra Silvertongue’s youth are long behind her—or so she thought.

Sylvia Chan, Manager, Marketing & Publicity

American Royals
By Katharine McGee
ISBN 9781984830173
Ages 14+ | Random House BFYR

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown. Two girls vying for the prince’s heart. This is the story of the American royals.

The Starlight Claim
By Tim Wynne-Jones
ISBN 9781536202649
Ages 14+ | Candlewick

Fast-paced, evocative, and intensely suspenseful, Tim Wynne-Jones’s latest psychological thriller finds a teenager setting his wits against the frigid wilderness and a menacing crew of escapees.

Evan Munday, Publicity Manager

The Grey Sisters
By Jo Treggiari
ISBN 9780735262980
Ages 12+ | Penguin Teen Canada

Two years after a deadly plane crash, best friends D and Spider head into the mountains to face their grief and find more than they bargained for.

Aurora Rising
By Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
ISBN 9781524720964
Ages 12+ | Knopf BFYR

The year is 2380, and the graduating cadets of Aurora Academy are being assigned their first missions. Star pupil Tyler Jones ends up with the dregs…not to mention Aurora Jie-Lin O’Malley, the girl he’s just rescued from interdimensional space.

Samantha Devotta, Associate Publicist

Chicken Girl
By Heather Smith
ISBN 9780143198680
Ages 12+ | Penguin Teen Canada

Poppy used to be an optimist…until she’s cyber-bullied. Then she takes refuge in her job (wearing a feathered chicken suit) before meeting a little girl who changes the way she thinks.

House of Salt and Sorrows
By Erin A. Craig
ISBN 9781984831927
Ages 12+ | Delacorte Press

As one by one her beautiful sisters mysteriously die on their isolated island estate, Annaleigh must unravel the curse that haunts her family.

Don’t forget to follow us on Instagram @penguinteenca for more recommendations in 2020 … see you next year!

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: The Grey Sisters Blog Tour Recap

We’ve been running a massive blog tour for Jo Treggiari’s GG-nominated THE GREY SISTERS for the past couple of weeks so we’ve dropped all the reviews here in a handy-dandy recap post.

Week One

October 14: Michele at Just A Lil’ Lost recommends it for fans of SADIE or THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES

October 15: Kristi at Confessions of a YA Reader promoted the book along with some more info about Jo Treggiari

October 16: Zuhra at Venus Reads was hooked within the first chapter and “enjoyed the complexities of all the characters, plot and how the heavy topic of grief was tackled”

October 17: Book Hounds featured a Q&A with Jo Treggiari herself (and now our TBRs are even longer!)

October 18: Trang at Bookidote thought it was so compelling, she finished the book in ONE SITTING!

Week Two

October 21: Victoria at The Contented Reader enjoyed Jo’s previous book BLOOD WILL OUT and recommends this one too

October 22: Crossroad Reviews thought the characters are “some that will rip out your heart”

October 23: YA Book Central chatted with Jo and we learned what she’s working on next (plus there’s a giveaway!)

October 24: Lizz at Literary Lizard posted both a review and an interview with Jo where they discussed the cult aspects of the book

October 25: Isabella at The Feminist Bookworm did a Q&A with Jo and learned more about the inspiration for the novel

Week Three

October 28: On Instagram, Sam recommended THE GREY SISTERS to fans of WILDER GIRLS

October 29: Carly at A Beauty & Her Books was immediately intrigued by the synopsis and enjoyed the read

October 30: On Instagram, Jen read it in a day and was shocked by some of the twists!

October 31: And on Instagram, Ali finished off the tour with a beautiful photo!

Thanks so much to everyone who participated, we appreciate you all! Hopefully this blog tour will inspire others to pick up a copy of THE GREY SISTERS – if you do, make sure you let us know what you think!

Our 2019 Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalists

GGbooks2019

Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts honours the best books in Canadian literature with the Governor General’s Literary Awards. This year, we have four finalists in the Young People’s Literature categories, one in text and three in illustrated books. Congratulations to our authors and illustrators!

Finalist for Young People’s Literature – Illustrated Books

Albert’s Quiet Quest
By Isabelle Arsenault
ISBN 9781101917626 | Tundra Books
Hardcover | 48 Pages | Ages 4-8
“In Arsenault’s ideal neighborhood, independent children make their own decisions and form their own community, and they resolve their own conflicts, too.” – Publishers Weekly

How to Give Your Cat a Bath
By Nicola Winstanley
Illustrated by John Martz
ISBN 9780735263543 | Tundra Books
Hardcover | 40 Pages | Ages 3-7
“This laugh-out-loud picture book can serve as a beginning reader. . . . The inevitable ending will delight both children and adults and this title will be requested over and over.” – Starred Review, Booklist

King Mouse
By Cary Fagan
Illustrated by Dena Seiferling
ISBN 9780735264045 | Tundra Books
Hardcover | 40 Pages | Ages 3-7
“Graceful and perceptive in both illustration and text, the timeless theme is particularly pertinent today.” – Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

Finalist for Young People’s Literature – Text

The Grey Sisters
By Jo Treggiari
ISBN 9780735262980 | Penguin Teen Canada
Hardcover | 288 Pages | Ages 12+
“Dark and gripping. . . . [R]eaders will have a hard time putting the book down.” – School Library Journal

Special thanks to the peer assessment committee: Shauntay Grant, Jon Klassen, Kathryn Shoemaker, Kagiso Lesego Molope, Kenneth Oppel, and Ellen Schwartz.

Follow the conversation on Twitter through @CanadaCouncil and by using the hashtag #GGbooks. The winners of the 2019 Governor General Literary Awards will be announced on Tuesday, October 29, 2019.

Putting the YA in FRIYAY: Introducing the Penguin 10

Calling all YA readers! We’re excited to introduce you to the only books you need to read this fall – the PENGUIN 10! From contemporary to fantasy, thriller to historical, we have something for everyone and we can’t wait to share these fantastic reads with you starting in September.

Follow along on social media using #Penguin10 to see what other people think!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/penguinteenca
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PenguinTeenCa/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/penguinteenca/