2022 BC and Yukon Book Prize Winner

The BC and Yukon Book Prizes, established in 1985, recognize and promote the achievements of the book community in BC and Yukon through the prizes and related programs. The prizes are administered and awarded by members of the non-profit West Coast Book Prize Society, who represent all facets of the publishing and writing community, and are presented annually at the Society’s gala. For more information and to see this year’s complete list of winners, click here.

We would like to congratulate Julie Morstad on winning the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize for Time Is a Flower, edited by Tara Walker with assistance from Margot Blankier!

Time Is a Flower
By Julie Morstad
56 Pages | Ages 3-7 | Hardcover
ISBN 9780735267541 | Tundra Books
What is time? Is it the tick tick tock of a clock, numbers and words on a calendar? It’s that, but so much more. Time is a seed waiting to grow, a flower blooming, a sunbeam moving across a room. Time is slow like a spider spinning her web or fast like a wave at the beach. Time is a wiggly tooth, or waiting for the school bell to ring, or reading a story . . . or three! But time is also morning for some and night for others, a fading sunset and a memory captured in a photo taken long ago. In this magical meditation on the nature of time, Julie Morstad shines a joyful light on a difficult-to-grasp concept for young readers and reminds older readers to see the wonders of our world, including children themselves, through the lens of time.

We’d also like to congratulate our other shortlisted authors: Kallie George and Elly MacKay (The Secret Fawn) and David A. Robertson and Julie Flett (On the Trapline), who were nominated for the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize; as well as Angela Ahn and Julie Kwon (Peter Lee’s Notes from the Field), and Xiran Jay Zhao (Iron Widow) who were nominated for the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize!

Leave a Reply