CBA Libris Awards 2010 Shortlist

The Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) announced the 2010 CBA Libris Awards shortlist. The great news is that Bradley McGogg, The Very Fine Frog and Vanishing Girl have both been nominated for an award. Congratulations to Tim Beiser, Rachel Berman, and Shane Peacock! What a very fine birthday present this must be for Tim Beiser!


Bradley McGogg, The Very Fine Frog
Written by Tim Beiser
Illustrated by Rachel Berman

Tim Beiser was born on April Fools’ Day in Los Angeles, California. Tim has had many day jobs: a pastry chef, an architectural draftsman, a college teacher, a waiter, a nightclub performer, a computer repairman, and, lastly, an emergency medical technician for the Fire Department of New York, driving an ambulance. His work has appeared in such publications as National Post Business, Toronto Life, Elm Street, Reader’s Digest, and Saturday Night, Tim has been nominated for four National Magazine Awards. Bradley McGogg, the Very Fine Frog is his first book for children. Tim Beiser is the proud dad of twins Rowan and Daniel, and he and his family split their time between Toronto, Canada and Grignan, France.

Rachel Berman is a self-educated painter who has lived and worked in Canada, the United States, and Ireland. Born in New Orleans, Rachel has worked as a professional artist for over thirty years. Her paintings have been likened to the poems of Leonard Cohen. The mysterious figures and hidden stories glimpsed in her paintings are a reflection of the mysteries Berman has unraveled in her own life. Once known as Susan King, she discovered her original birth name, birth date, and the names of her biological parents only ten years ago. This experience led her to reclaim her long-lost name. Rachel Berman lives in Victoria, British Columbia.

Also nominated in this category:
Perfect Snow by Barbara Reid
When Stella Was Very, Very Small by Marie-Louise Gay


Vanishing Girl
The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case

Written by Shane Peacock

Shane Peacock was born in Thunder Bay, Ontario, and grew up in Kapuskasing. A biographer, journalist, and screenwriter, he is also the author of several novels and plays. He has received many honors for his writing, including the prestigious Arthur Ellis Award for Eye of the Crow, the first of his Boy Sherlock Holmes series. Shane Peacock lives with his wife and three children near Cobourg, Ontario.

Also nominated in this category:
The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong
The Uninvited by Tim Wynne-Jones

The Winners will be announced at the CBA’s Libris Awards Ceremony on May 29, 2010. Good luck to all the nominees!

One Reply to “CBA Libris Awards 2010 Shortlist”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: